Senior Year (again)

I still remember that summer after high school graduation, feeling so relieved that high school was over and that I could have a fresh start. I remember enrolling in a major I did not really care about thinking Oh, what the hell, whatever. because let’s be honest, at sixteen, I just really didn’t care. Plus, it wasn’t really the college life that I’d dreamt and planned about. So, what the hell? That moment when I wrote down the major I was going to take, I did not know that three years later, it would be my life. All I knew was that I wanted to fulfill the ambition that I had written down in my primary school yearbook: to be a doctor. That was all I knew and wanted. I thought that undergrad was something I just had to get over with to study what I really want: medicine. But never did it come to my head that the upcoming years will really MATTER.

I am about to start my final year in college in a few months and I cannot even fathom how fast the years had gone by. I guess it’s true what they say: Time flies when you’re having fun. Despite all the sweaty and too-pissed-off-to-talk days in the lab and stressful and barely-slept nights, I can wholeheartedly say that I did enjoy the past three years.

The past three years were the years I’ve “evolved” the most. My perception about a lot of things has definitely changed and I now have different priorities and don’t really get excited by stuff that usually excited me. I just speak my mind more often now and maybe too often. I am more independent and I guess, serious. I was too myopic of a person back in the day (actually just three years ago) but right now, all I can think about is the future. Sometimes maybe even too much that it’s no longer healthy.

With all those things being said, I am still leaving a huge room for improvement because I know that even though I have changed for the better in most areas of my life, there are areas that actually got bad or maybe, worse, that I have to work on.

It just amazes me how much little time can change you. I am definitely not the same person I was last year, not two years ago and definitely not three years ago. I am really excited about what change can the future bring me. And I do hope it’s all for the best.

And although I am still a lost kid in this road to finding a career, I have my fingers crossed on what the year has in store for me. I’ve got two entirely different future scenarios playing in my head.

Leave a Reply

